Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Author Talk: Bruce Coffin

November 1, 2017 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm

Free

Come to the Library for a book talk with Maine author Bruce Robert Coffin. His second novel, Beaneath The Depths, published by Harper Collins and released August 2017, is the second title in his John Byron Mystery series. Bruce is a former detective sergeant with more than twenty-seven years of law enforcement under his belt. At the time of his retirement from the Portland police department, he supervised all homicide and violent crime investigations for Maine’s largest city. Following the terrorist attacks of September 11th, Bruce spent four years working counter-terrorism with the FBI, earning the Director’s Award – the highest honor a non-agent can receive. In addition to his new John Byron Mystery Series, Bruce’s short fiction has appeared in several anthologies, including Fool Proof in 2016 Best American Mystery Stories released October 2016. Among the Shadows is a taut, atmospheric thriller that will appeal to fans of Michael Connelly and John Sandford.

“Bruce Robert Coffin is the real deal: not just a veteran homicide detective, but an incredibly gifted storyteller. Among the Shadows is the best debut I’ve read in ages, filled with suspense, great writing, a perfectly realized setting in Portland, Maine (this is probably the most accurate depiction I’ve seen of that big little city), and an intriguing main character. Detective John Byron promises to become a break-out favorite among readers of crime fiction. He’s already one of mine.” – Paul Doiron, author of Widowmaker

Details

Date:
November 1, 2017
Time:
6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Event Categories:
,
Website:
http://engagedpatrons.org/EventsExtended.cfm?SiteID=1429&EventID=314416&PK=

Organizer

Freeport Community Library
Phone:
207-865-3307
Email:
freeportlibrary@gmail.com
Website:
http://www.freeportlibrary.com/

Venue

Freeport Community Library
10 Library Dr
Freeport, ME 04032 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
207-865-3307
Website:
http://http://www.freeportlibrary.com/